And just as a disclaimer, nothing of what I say is meant to be offensive, because there's not necessarily a "better" culture among cultures--they're just different. My co-workers were telling me how they thought Americans were all so cold, since we can't seem to be able to take a joke (of course, I disagree, I think Americans can be rather warm, but obviously because I am used to the culture). And, of course, U.S. folk can argue back that Latin Americans are all too forward and don't respect personal privacy/space, but in the end, that's the culture and what is expected. So I'm going to stop lecturing now, and just leave it at the opinion that we should not consider a certain culture superior to another, but rather recognize and adjust to the differences (without giving up your own values).
Anyway! Ecuadorian culture:
- Saying that we'll do something but then pushing it back, or omitting the other dozen things in between "¡Vamos!" and actually doing the thing we set out to do, thereby creating a very tenuous schedule of events and taking forever to make decisions (this, to me, is the most obvious difference from U.S. culture--but not too different, actually, from Asian culture). Examples:
- Say: "We're going to the lake now!" What actually happens: We leave, but start driving around Ibarra looking at houses since an uncle and aunt want ideas to build their own, and then never make it to the lake.
- Say: "We're going to the hot springs this weekend!" What actually happens: The date gets pushed back a couple weeks, and we still don't make it today haha.
- Always being on the verge of dancing. Examples:
- Milton and Betty will unashamedly break out into dance in the office when they hear a good song. I even joined in today, since it's Friday, and I decided I needed to move around after lunch.
- The municipal government driver (yes, they hire drivers for all the official business. Is it the same in the States? I've never thought about this...) blasts music from his truck and starts shimmying in his seat and whooping while driving and while I start to slightly fear for my life.
- Having strong family ties. Examples:
- My host mom (Ceci) and her daughter (Maria Teresa) and granddaughter (Maria Celeste) have a tradition of visiting her brother's house in Caranqui (which is a parroquia of Ibarra, kind of like a county in a state, except this is in a city) every weekend, along with her other brother and his wife, and her other sister and her children (who actually live right next door). So in total, it's Ceci + kid + grandkid, brother + wife + 2 kids, other brother + wife, sister + 2 kids, me + Rachel, and sometimes + other friends or even other brother, who lives in Quito. It is quite the party.
- And this house in Caranqui is the one I described in an earlier post, the one that makes you feel as if you've been transported back to the 1800s. But I have honestly really come to love "la casa en Caranqui" and all the hubbub that goes with it when we're there.
- That house is also the place where I first did karaoke in Ecuador (karaoke here is really popular!!), as I mentioned some time ago. With the "java" of beer (a crate of 12 bottles of beers, each bottle being equivalent to 3 cans of beer). Oh, another thing, Ecuadorians can DRINK. I mean, I don't drink very much, but even I can tell that they must have very well-functioning livers. The family managed to finish most of that crate (or all? I don't remember).
- Hmmm....having strong family ties, except for fatherlessness and weak marital ties? =[ Many of the women/girls I know here are fatherless (including my host sister and host niece, and daughter of my host sister's friend, and many of my co-workers' kids). I also am pretty sure that I know more people here who are divorced or have been divorced, or are going through divorce, or say that they're not married so they can get with unsuspecting people, than I know people who are married and faithful to their spouses. This seems to be a problem throughout Latin America, and it is incredibly sad to me. Marriage is supposed to be a beautiful and sanctifying thing, not something you have on the side or can easily disregard. That's terrifying to me. Jesus Christ must be the center of the life of my husband (if I ever get one) and mine, because I'm not going to just roll the dice and hope they get me a spouse who decides to be committed to me and only me, and for whom I don't have to drive all over the city to see whether his car is in front of a strip club or not (yes, that was another unexpected side trip once, and many of the women here apparently do that occasionally).
- Spoiling/not disciplining their children. Examples:
- Ooooooh my host-niece? MAN but she would've gotten a good spanking by now! Actually, multiple spankings--like one every day, if not more. She is definitely sweet sometimes, but more often than not I'm just like.....are you serious? At that age??? Girl needs some Asian tiger mom in her life....
- Potatoes, corn, and fritada. People here eat SO MUCH POTATO. Basically with every lunch and dinner (like how Asians are with rice, except they also eat rice with meals here). And corn (not on the cob, usually, but in baked kernels). And pork. Okay, fritada? One of the best things ever (fried pork), but it's a lot....btw, fritada's what actually got me interested in Latin American culture way back in high school. I was on a mission trip to Chicago, and we went to an Ecuadorian restaurant one night, and the pork was just SO GOOD that I was convinced I had to learn more about the culture from whence it came......heheh it's kind of silly, but I obviously don't regret it.
- Ají. Since we're on the topic of food, I will mention this ever-present, delicious Ecuadorian seasoning! Ají is a salsa made with--at the most basic level--red chili peppers, water, tomatoes, and onions (and sometimes lime juice). Every restaurant has it, and it's also usually present at family meals. You can make it really spicy (add less water), or "más suave" (not so spicy). Since I love spicy foods, ají is the perfect addition to all of my meals here heheh....the only downside is the onion (I don't like onions). But remember (for some of you) what I said about coming to an understanding with papaya when I was in Costa Rica because I ingested such large amounts of it? I think the same has happened here with onions. I've ingested so much onion (with ají, with ceviche, in general, etc.) that I've come to be okay with eating it. Also, I don't cry when cutting onions! (And I have probably thus perpetually designated myself as the onion cutter for whoever of you I'm cooking with in the future. But I think I'm okay with that.)
This post has gotten so long. Dang it. I'm going whitewater rafting tomorrow though! (Yup, plans got switched around again. Horseback riding on Sunday!)
So I should really go to sleep now. Buenas noches...! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment